I hope this doesn’t mean I’ll be a bad parent.

This is my cat Sascha. He’s about five months old, and is a sweet little guy. He’s my first cat, and I didn’t know if I would like having a cat, but I do. He’s much more cuddly and interested in the human occupants of his household than I thought he would be. He follows me around and runs to the door when my husband comes home from work. In the early morning, he is determined to nap on my chest. If I’m sleeping on my side, he tries to perch on top of me, and falls off.

I track my growing affection for him by imagining that I take him to the vet and the vet tells me I’ll have to pay a certain amount to cure him. I love him at least $1,000 by now.

Anyway, last night my husband and I went to the gym together, and from there went straight to a restaurant for a bite to eat. After dinner, we went for a drink at our favorite neighborhood pub. All in all, we were gone for almost four hours.

When we got back, I didn’t see Sascha, but that is not unusual. Sometimes he sleeps under the bed or at the back of the closet. But then, when I was standing in the bedroom, I heard a muffled meowing. I was confused at first, but I quickly suspected where it was coming from.

I opened a dresser drawer and found him sitting there impassively in a nest of t-shirts. Other than the meowing, he didn’t seem troubled. But he was in the drawer for almost four hours.

Sascha emerging from a drawer

We’re not sure what happened. Sascha discovered the dresser drawers a few weeks ago and jumps in every chance he gets. One of  us could have shut the drawer without realizing Sascha was inside. (I admit that until I was writing this, it hadn’t even occurred to me that it could have been me that did it.) Or, sometimes my husband shuts the drawer for a minute when Sascha is inside, as a game. Maybe he did that, got distracted, and forgot about Sascha. The first scenario seems more likely, but the second is possible.

Sascha doesn’t seem traumatized, but I feel terrible.

2 Responses to “I hope this doesn’t mean I’ll be a bad parent.”


  1. 1 Maggie Winters August 31, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    Oh my gosh I do the exact same thing with my cat, haha! I love her my whole bank account now…we’ve had her two years. I swore I would only love her $1000 when we got her, biggest lie of my life!

    PS- about the drawer, little Lucyfur loves them; I’m guessing Sascha wasn’t too upset!


Leave a Reply

About Me


